fbpx

My Citibank Simplicity+ Credit Card Application Review

Citibank Simplicity+ Visa Credit Card Application Review

Credit card is the least thing you should have if you wanted financial freedom or if you wanna get out debts. However, there are instances in our lives that we have emergency expenses.

It can be alarming and hard not to be able to pay for Utility bills, buy food and groceries after having some emergency expenses. Apparently, credit cards are the fastest way to get out of a sudden spiraling financial crisis.

It is the fastest way. If you already have a card. Of course if financial crisis happen before having a credit card it may take a while or even impossible.

The thing is applying for a credit card may take a month or two. At the same time if you had a issues in paying bills you may end up not getting approved for a card too.

Check out: How to get a Secured Credit Card with BPI

This post is not about how to get approved for a credit card. Today, I’m going to share the full timeline of my Citibank Credit Card application for Simplicity+ Visa card. It is for those who are curious how long do Citibank process their card application.

Just so you are aware, this is going to be my 4th card ever. But my 2nd active card with separate credit limit. There’s a reason behind that which I’ll tell you later on.

Day 1 – November 02, 2018


When filling out their form make sure you have all details complete and accurate to avoid delays. Don’t falsify any information.

I applied through their website, it’s more realistic online than the sales reps because details will be unsecured.

Since I have an existing card, I entered my card number on the form. That was a life threatening attempt, hahaha just kidding.

The thing is, I had a financial crash for the past two months. My baby’s first birthday, my unhealthy body strikes again and my baby broke my mom’s TV. 

My mom is quite demanding with things. Instead of me paying for my card I was forced to get a home credit loan to replace her TV, my money was used to pay for the down payment. TV was used on my baby’s birthday for karaoke purposes.

I was also supposed to make a payment for my card and just use the limit for purchasing the ingredients for my baby’s birthday feast. However, she told me that it’s gonna be better to buy at the local wet & dry market in Zapote. I got sick and lead to absences without pay, and being sick required me to purchase some meds too. 

It was a total crisis for me. I’m being able to pay just the minimum due and the finance charges I’m getting every month is about 600+ PHP. So that’s getting in to a deeper hole of financial disaster. So before it gets deeper and deeper, I applied for a second card to do a balance transfer.

Day 4 – November 05, 2018


I didn’t really check anything about the application on this day, but I got an email around 9 pm. I check my email around 1 am because my shift starts at 3 am. The email is not even about confirming that I got approved. But it gives an impression that it was.

The email was about welcoming me for an eStatement. I didn’t want to assume that time so I checked the application status.

Day 5- November 6, 2018


Technically it was day 4 because it’s 1 am. After seeing the email about the eStatement, I checked my application status. I can say that Citibank’s online facilities are quite secured because even in checking status it sends an OTP(one-time password).

On the status of the card application, it only says “Booked”. Their process is fast but really confusing. I thought when they say booked, it means that it is booked for checking or credit investigation or whatever.

I tried checking on the web and there’s only one forum that has this topic. And no one confirmed the accuracy of the answer. Usually when you go to forums, if the question was answered or resolved, there would be an indication or at least a comment that says it’s good. But there’s none.

I needed to have the confirmation which one is accurate because there are two answers that make sense. One says it’s booked for shipment and the other one says the same ideology as what I thought.

I’m so curious what it means, so I also asked a friend who used to work in Citibank. He’s offline that’s why I decided to call Citibank.

You’re right I should’ve called them instead of searching and chatting a friend.


However, Citibank doesn’t have a toll-free number. It sucks right? I think they are the only bank that doesn’t have a toll-free number. They have a chat support who can’t help me identifying what I am trying to find out.

So for the sake of knowing what’s the real deal, I called them using our landline in CAVITE. Since I can’t find an answer about  the “Booked” status on Citibank’s card application status, I thought it would be nice to confirm and share it here.

Having that said, I was able to confirm that it was approved and booked for printing. And later on be shipped according to the rep.

Day 6 – November 7, 2018


Around 5pm, I received a text message that the card is about to be shipped via Air21. The tracking number is giving me an error when I checked it. Details were just loaded up after an hour.

If you encounter the same thing don’t panic. There are some parts on our job where we check tracking for orders and there are time that tracking numbers won’t have details for a while.

Maximum wait for tracking numbers to have details is within the day.

As per Air21’s website, deliveries in Cavite takes 1-2 business days. I have a feeling that this would arrive by tomorrow since we’re just in Bacoor, we’ll see.

Day 7- November 8, 2018


Around 2:30pm, I received the card. According to my husband the delivery guy went over earlier but they can’t release the card to him even I left my authorization letter and IDs.

As per the delivery guy and the note on the package, this is a face to face delivery. They also have a form from Citibank that I have signed, the guy said they’ll return that to Citibank.

So if you think you’ll not be at home during business hours, ask for the card to be delivered at your office.

Activation of the card


Citibank Simplicity+ Visa Credit Card Application Review

It’s very easy to activate the Citibank card. I just downloaded the app and registered for an account there. Just make sure you have the card with you when signing up because it is required.

After sign up, it asked me to activate the card and poof! It’s activated.

My first use

Since I can’t do balance transfer yet, I tried using it for our groceries. Since I found out at SM Appliance Center that they have “Buy Now, Pay Later” promo, I decided to invest on a laptop to maintain this blog.

I just recently posted why I hate installments, but I decided to get one for a laptop. There’s more opportunities that I can unlock if I have a laptop that’s why even I hate installments, I have to get it.

That was just 7 days

I should say that Citibank is the fastest bank that processes card applications. I thought it would be BDO, because my other card is with them. They processed my card in less than 30 days.

I’ve seen that there were a lot of bad feedback about how long it took them for the card to be received. But according to the delivery guy, if I failed to receive the card that time it may take a while for me to receive it.

Maybe those people who had a bad experience with receiving the card failed to be at home when the card is being delivered.

Citibank Simplicity+ Visa Credit Card Features and Eligibility

Don’t forget to subscribe and follow 😀

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

Tags:

miely

Miely is a working mom that writes during free time about personal thoughts and experiences. She loves sharing things that may be useful for other people too.

Blog Comments

Hello! I applied for a Citibank Simplicity Credit Card last weekend online. An agent contacted me through phone call last Monday and notified me that it would take 5-7 working days to hear from them again. This whole process is causing me anxieties because I don’t know when it will get approved. I tried to contact them through landline but they’re asking for either an application ID (which I don’t have; I only have the reference number) and my TIN number (which whenever I try to input results to no application connected to such). Any suggestions? Thank you!

Hi did you apply online? If you did most likely they have sent you an email on how to track your application. If it says booked then it is approved. I didn’t really get any notification from them about my card approval. I only got notified when they are about to deliver. Also about their hotline you have to try other options to seek a real person to talk with. I don’t think that check status function on their hotline work. 😅

Hello! Yes, I applied online. They sent me a link but whenever I tried to open it, it only says “received”. Since I’m already contacted by one of their staff through phone I was assuming it’s gonna change to “processing”. Or maybe I’m just overly assuming. Hahaha. Good to hear that the status function doesn’t really work. When I heard that my TIN isn’t connected to any application, I was about to assume (again!) that mine was already thrown to the bush. Haha. I guess I have to really patiently wait then. Thanks! Wish me luck!

I see haha don’t be nervous I am hoping you’ll get approved. Apparently they don’t change the status to processing or any. I noticed it just says received or booked. For rejected I believe the details will be gone there. Because I had a loan application an the details were gone from the status checker. But the called for reconsideration then I saw it there again until it changed to booked.

Hi Miely,

Huhu. So sad to say I got rejected and I don’t know why. Hayy!! Better luck next time, I guess.

I didn’t realize that your comment was posted on my old post on bpi express start review. Hahaha. Don’t worry about that you can try secured credit cards. Sometimes citibank calls for reconsideration.

Hi did you apply online? If you did most likely they have sent you an email on how to track your application. If it says booked then it is approved. I didn’t really get any notification from them about my card approval. I only got notified when they are about to deliver. Also about their hotline you have to try other options to seek a real person to talk with. I don’t think that check status function on their hotline work. 😅

Hi Miely,

I had applied my Citi Simplicity Card online last April 3, 2019. Although i did not receive any calls from them, i did get an email to check my application status, which as of now April 30, it still says “Received”. I’ve contacted their support last wee and said that my application is still “on process” something like that.. What can you advise on this case? It’ll be a month now from the date I applied online, should I still wait for the accepted/rejected notice?

There are lots of holidays on April and tomorrow is another holiday that can cause some delays on your card application. I suppose that you just have to wait and check the application status online. Once it says booked the it has been approved and if the application isn’t there on the site then it means it got rejected. There’s an expiration date on the application status if it says received after that or before the expiration might as well contact citi directly.

Hi, my application for citi simplicity card is currently on Booked status, is this an assurance that my application got approved?
Thanks

Hi based on experience with their cc application and loan application, my answer is yes. I also tried to check on forums in the past and there’s only one topic related to the same question and their answer is yes as well. 🥰

I came here to your blog to know more about the CITI Simplicity Card, its cash back feature. But as I after reading your blog, I’m just curious, were you able to pay off your debt on your other credit card?

Hi their cash back only applies when you pay your dues on time even it’s just the minimum due. And yes I paid my debts. If I am out of budget I try my best to pay at least the Minimum Due amount. It would incur some fees tho. But the account will remain active by paying it.

Hi, how did you check the application status online? Is it on their actual website? Do I need to sign in? Im so clueless how to check it online, I received an email re the default pw but dont know what username to use. Do I need to create an account? But I dont have the cc # yet. I called their number and as per the IVR my application was approved but dont know what’s next.

You can’t create an account unless you got an active card with them.. When checking the status you usually have to go to their email and click the link.. here’s a screenshot of the email I got before https://mielygraphy.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/citi-bank-applicaton-status.png if it is approved you just have to wait for their sms with a tracking number. Your card cannot be received by anyone so you must be tracking it once you got the tracking number.(they don’t allow pick up and authorization letters so you must be really present upon delivery). You know cards may take a while to be shipped because they queue it first for embossing and card printing. I just wanna let you know so you won’t be wasting time following up with them..once your card is handed over to the courier that’ the only time they’ll inform you about the tracking details.. hope this helps

Thanks! I didnt receive that email tho, just an SMS that application was received and to call their number to check the application status. So I guess I just have to wait for the SMS regarding the delivery/tracking number of the card. I appreciate the info, thanks again! 🙂

No worries 😉

Hi! Applied for one too. How much is the credit limit for Citi Simplicity? Thanks!

I’m not sure if it’s the same for everyone, mine is at 65k

Hi Miely,

already received my citi simplicity card. then I tried to apply for another citi card which is citirewards card then already booked …

the process is fast and easy

That’s nice.. ung simplicity kasi walang rewards at all.. However if you just got your new card and applied for another most likely shared limit sya.. hopefully nd..since ung implicity nmn wlang annual fees..

Hi. I received an email that my Citibank Simplicity+ Card has been approved and will be deilvered in 7 days. Problem is that they gonna deliver it to my home address. I’m not always home due to busy schedule at my office. Can i instead change the delivery address to my office address? Can i request it to their customer hotline? Thanks!

Hi. Can i change delivery address from home to office address? I just receives an email that my application is approved. Thanks!

I would suggest you o contact them as soon as possible because once it is shipped I believe it can no longer be changed

Hi Miely!
Would like to ask about the 10% cash back. So it means even though I pay on time and even paying the minimum amount, every purchase I make accumulates interest? If so, upon searching, I saw that the purchase APR is 16.99%-26.99% variable. So does this mean every purchase I make accumulates 16.99%-26.99% interest? Thanks girl!

Hi, I haven’t really tried calculating credit card interests because they seemed to be so confusing. But whenever you pay the minimum dues it only makes your credit card still active. That means it would accumulate finance charges like interest but no late fees/penalties (in case of simplicity visa card it doesn’t really incur late fees). With this card on this review, it provides 10% cashback on interest when you pay on or before due even it is just the minimum due. Although I haven’t checked if the interest cashback only gets calculated on the paid amount, I can see on my bills that they deduct the cashback on my statement monthly.. I just don’t know how they’re calculated.. Hope that answers your question.. thanks for dropping by, please subscribe hehehe :*

Hi Miely! Can I ask what happens if you pay your due in whole before the deadline, does it still accumulate finance charges? I’m comparing this Simplicity card from my friend’s BDO Gold Mastercard, because upon checking her receipt, when she purchase an item lets say 5,000php worth of shoes, and payed before the deadline, she basically just pays back exactly 5,000php upon checking on her online receipt; no finance charges, late fees/penalties. I’m wondering if this is same with the simplicity card, that if you purchase something and pay before your deadline, you just basically payback the same amount without any finance charges and fees/penalties. Thanks girl! Subscribed already hehe

Hi thanks for subscribing po. With credit cards usually when you pay it in full it won’t incur any finance charges. Unless you purchased an interest-based installments. So far with Simplicity I tend to pay more than minimum due only because of mishandled credit. And the interest rates are really heartbreaking. But based on experience whenever the bill is paid in full I don’t get any interests. You can also refer to this article by citibank: https://www.citibank.com.ph/lit/ucw/understanding-payments-and-fees.html

Thanks for this! Great help <3

Your welcome po

Hello Miely, I applied for a Citi Cashback Credit Card earlier this morning, and just around 9pm tonight I received an email that welcomes me to Citi Electronic Statements. Same with your initial reaction, it gave me an impression that I was approved but wanted to confirm so I check my application status online using the reference number provided to me, and it shows me “Booked”. At this point I felt really curious and started checking the web for interpretation and found your blog. Do you think I’m approved?

Yes you are. All my citi cards were in booked status when they got approved. Cheers. Spend wisely 😘

Hope you’ll subscribe to my blog 😉
mielygraphy.com/subscribe

I applied Aug 4, someone called me at Aug 6 to verify my info. Unfortunately, I received a text from Citi saying my card application wasn’t approved and to try again after 6 months.

What’s a credit card company’s usual criteria to decide if they should approve an application or not?

Hi honestly I’m still clueless but citibank usually considers the annual income. For non card holders you should have at least 250k annual income. And that should match the documents sent to them. I remembered my first loan with them was disapproved but they called me because they told me that my itr states different annual income amount. I told them that I was on maternity plus sick leave for four months that’s why it didn’t meet their requirements. The caller advised me to provide a different proof of income that would support the amount mentioned as my annual income. So I sent them certificate of employment. And they approved the loan. Not sure if it’s the same with credit cards. They don’t really disclose it

Hi! I applied for a citibank rewards card and saw that the status is Booked. The thing is no citibank representative actually called me. Is that possible? To be approved even without them contacting me? Thank you!

Yes. It is possible the reason why they have the status checker online is for their customers to know before they even call. I got my text about the approval 2 days after seeing the booked status on their site.

Ok thank you! It’s good to know that they don’t have to call me to confirm my details for my application to be approved. 😊 i was worried cause i applied on aug 6 and i havent received any calls from them. 😅 i guess i got used to other bank’s credit card application process.

Citibank is pretty straightforward when it comes to approving cards. But they are strict with payments

You’re welcome btw. Spend wisely and please subscribe to our newsletter 😉

Hi! I read that the courier didn’t give the cc to your husband and that he stopped by again the same day. Did your husband tell the courier to return at a certain time? O did the courier just return on his own?

Yes the courier told him that it may take a while for them to redeliver it in case of absence of the recipient so he asked if he could go back to our house at 4pm. The delivery guy left his number and agreed to return.

omg! thank u for sharing this, same as u im really confused on whats happening coz i also recieved emails like “congratulation for having a simplicity card” and the “e something” but not getting any update if im approved or not but when i checked my status online it also says “booked” so im positive that im approve aswell, but still i’ll be calling them for confirmation. i started my application last july 4th 2019 and today is august 23 and i dnt have the card yet.

anyway thank u. hope u can share some tips or promos that we can avail thru simplicity card. GODBLESS!

Hi, I applied 2 days ago and the last page I was in showed that they will contact me in 3 business days. However, I have not received any email confirmation of my application nor the application ID. Usually I would receive an email confirmation stating that I have applied for this and my application is being processed. Was this the case for you? That you did not receive any email confirmation until you received the estatement email? Was that the first email you received from them since your application? How did you get your application ID? Sorry, I just got confused of the process. Thank you!

Hi as far as I can remember I got an email with reference number. You can also try calling their hotline to verify if your application has been received.

Hi Miely this is quite perfect, just like the rest I was also curious about the booked status, however my case is different. I applied on line, and got a call to resubmit my requirements and latest payslips. so I did, then a text requesting me to call them to verify my application, but when I called the agent said I was declined, and I felt what annoyed you asked me to call you just to be told I am declined? you can send that via text ( I don’t have a landline, I work at night so I will need to extend hours just to use the office phone to call them). So I thought end of the story. then received another text just 24 September it said “service advisory, Dear Value client one or more of your addresses were updated last 9/23/2019 if you did not request for this….. I ignored thinking there must be a mistake. but just today I received text and email that my application was approved and my card will be delivered by Air 21 7 days from now. I checked the online status checker. you were right when was declined I cannot access it, then now I can access it again with the booked status. But I still feel anxious about the change of address notice, so I will call them later at 6:00am… I am not 100% sure if I was really approved. Hope this is not a case of someone using my information but changed everything to their address, I am not also sure if my email address is hacked or if I am the alleged person, I should update my cellphone number too. or am I overthinking…. hahaha sorry, I guess some notices of citibank is very confusing.

Hi thanks so much for sharing your experience. Actually I had that notice of change address. It only means that they have entered it on their system

I am approved.. confirmed it finally, just waiting for Air21, this is my first credit card after 2 decades without it…. like having a second chance to live hahaha

Congrats beb. Spend wisely 😉 once you have the tracking no. Saglit nlng yon. 😁

Hi 😊 Just received an email that my application for a Citibank credit card is approved and the courier will deliver it to my home address. How can I change it my office address?

Hi you should call citibank as soon as possible while the card is not yet shipped. Usually after getting the approval email the card is still on printing process so they should be able to update it.

Does Citibank have customer service during the weekend? Thank you 😊

I’m not really sure. On their site they didn’t mention any open hours for the phone support you can refer to this https://www.citibank.com.ph/gcb/static/contact-us.htm?lid=PHENCBGGNHETLCONTACTUS

Hi, I really love this blog since it’s giving me ideas, I applied for a Citi Simplicity+ Card on Sept. 23, I received a text message thanking me for applying for a Citi Simplicity card, it gave me the reference number and when I checked the status it says that it needs documents even though I uploaded it during my online application so what I did was I uploaded my payslips again, I gave it a few days and they gave me an application ID and asking me to call them for verification or additional documents, I called them today and a rep told me that it’s on a “pre credit”?? I’m pretty sure I heard him right and he advised me to wait for a text message this coming week about the application, it’s my first time applying for a credit card so hoping for the best? Haha!

Hi thanks for your comment. I hope it goes well for you as well ☺️

Any comments?

Get the latest posts, updates and promos straight to your inbox

Subscribe now!

%d bloggers like this: